Portfolio Margin out of the question due to lack of credit history

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by trader5454, May 7, 2013.

1. Hi,

I am 22 years old. I have been trading for four years and I was interested in signing up for PM at ThinkorSwim. I put $125,000 in my account, submitted the paperwork, and completed the easy 20 question test. Somehow in my research of PM, I did not realize credit score was criteria. Since I have bought my car and the place I am living at outright, I effectively have a credit score of 0.

Is there any option on the retail side of things or will I have to go prop to get portfolio margin? I am mainly interested in PM so I can expand my trading of ratios and straddles.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

2. 1245

The reason why they do a credit check is that they look at PM as a credit business like your borrowing money.

3. Have they turned you down yet?

This is actually a very good position to be in, if you're 22 and have a car, a place to live, a 125k trading account and no debt.

You might want to start building credit, if not for this PM account, then for the lavish signup bonuses for travel related cards. See Flyertalk or FatWallet Finance forum for details.

4. I have already been rejected. I was told they want to know your credit history incase you blow up.

I want PM because I believe it will allow me to be a "safer" trader throughout my life. I mainly sell ratios, strangles etc on one product that I know very while, and it is difficult to do these types of trades with size under reg-t. I have paper traded with a PM account and the possibilities it opens up for me trading wise are great.

5. 125K is a little on the low side for PM. I would just open up a regular margin account.

Also remember Goal #1 should be return of capital.

Too many people margin up the ass on speculative positions only to blow out.