poorloser's journal and journey (to success?)

Discussion in 'Journals' started by poorloser, Jun 4, 2020.

1. Intro

I am a software engineer who has always been pretty fascinated by the markets and wanted to be involved. I trade very inconsistently both in how often I trade, and how I trade. My focus jumps around between different strategies and theories which all tend to be quite interesting, have strong supporters (and detractors), and promise success.

My goal here is to document what I am looking at and doing, hopefully get some advice, and make some progress toward becoming more consistent and profitable. Ultimately I would like to find an edge, build a strategy around it, and learn to follow it with discipline.

If I'm being an idiot, feel free to let me know, after all this is anonymous haha.

-- poorloser

Turveyd likes this.
  2. First suggestion would be to change your username if you want to be successful.

3. What I have done recently:

• Read Mind Over Markets
    • Been watching DOM and T&S more often on ES & MES
    Mind Over Markets was pretty interesting. It definitely changed my perspective a bit about how I think about a market and price behavior. It does seem a bit rigid and even arbitrary (e.g., why break the day into 30 min segments... why not 1 hr or 15 min?), but overall seemed to be valuable. It seems that Thinkorswim's monkey bars are pretty good for TPO charts and the volume/time profile studies also work nicely. I haven't done much trading with what I learned from the book, but the little bit that I have done has shown that the technique seems to be worth something when it comes to identifying areas where something is likely to happen, identifying what that might be is definitely more elusive.