POLL - What is your status?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by billpritjr, Apr 17, 2005.

POLL - What is your status?

1. Professional equities trader by occupation (employed by Wall Street firm, hedge fund, clear-cut "pro

19 vote(s)
    7.1%
  2. Professional futures trader by occupation (see above equities definition)

23 vote(s)
    8.6%
  3. Prop trader

41 vote(s)
    15.2%
  4. Stock broker/Investment Advisor/Similar

7 vote(s)
    2.6%
  5. Trade from home or work as non-professional but approach it seriously

147 vote(s)
    54.6%
  6. Student of markets / just watching right now

31 vote(s)
    11.5%
  1. POLL - What is your status?

2. Very good poll for brokerages to record.
    I hope everyone votes here

3. Interesting results so far. Nice poll.

4. Chagi

Chagi

I would definately classify myself as a "student of the markets" right now, even though I'm currently trading with a small online brokerage account.

I started trading in August of 2004, and likely won't have sufficient seed money to trade seriously until I'm finished University a year or so from now. In the meantime I've been absorbing as much knowledge as possible about the markets, trading, investing, etc., as well as gradually learning valuable lessons about actually trading from a practical standpoint. It's probably worth mentioning that all of my research into trading has helped me out a great deal along the way with my degree (I'm a business undergrad student, finance major).

I'm currently hoping to start trading more seriously at some point during 2006, though it might realistically take longer than that to really get started.

5. Aaron

Aaron

I'm surprised to see so many prop traders. I didn't realize is was such a large community. Do most prop traders trade from trading arcades with other traders? I know Bright Trading has a "remote" option for stay at home traders. Are stay at home traders still a minority of prop traders?