Please teach me.

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Evolution88, Mar 23, 2012.

1. Hi everyone

I feel I've hit a plateau in my trading. I'm still new to trading, having started a virtual portfolio in 2012.

In simplistic terms, from Jan to Feb alone, I realised 8% looking mainly for stocks that were oversold and going upwards.

Then in March I lost most of it as stocks that I thought were oversold went down further and stocks that I thought were overbought went up (triggering my stops) before going down. I'm not thinking my stops are too tight mainly coz I was alright when buying oversold stocks.

QUESTIONS:

1) Any suggestions what I should be learning next? (In Alexander Elder terms I'm thinking more about Methods because I reckon I'm alright in terms of Mind and Money Management.)

2) Do old methods from the 80s and 90s (e.g. candlesticks) still work? Along with the overbought indicators, the candlesticks tell me the stocks are going down but then that doesn't quite happen.

3) If by any chance there are Singapore technical traders out there that want to learn and share notes I'd be more than happy to meet up.

2. 1) You're relying on random/inconsistent indicators. They "work" when they "work" and don't when they don't. :eek: :( :mad:
    2) Instead of being a counter-trend trader, focus more on trend-following so you avoid the "trap" of getting runover by bulldozers & freight trains and you give your trades more upside potential. :cool:

3. The only advice I can offer right now as I`m leaving in a hurry is to erase the concept of overbought and oversold from your trading vocabulary.

Markets go up until people stop buying and they go down until people stop selling. Often, that is a lot further than people think, hence people blow up all the time trying to pick tops or catch falling knives. :)

4. Price action.

They work for those that know how to use them properly.