Please rate my strategy

Discussion in 'Trading' started by shainadir, Jun 17, 2009.

1. I'm a new trader and am trying out different strategies trying to find my niche...

I use stockfetcher.com in the evening looking for stocks that are trending up or down. I pick 4 or 5 stocks both long and short that appear to be good candidates.

At the opening, I will wait to see what the trend of the day is. When I see a stock that I'm looking to short at what seems to be the high of the day, I will use a ma(10) for an entry point with the 5 minute candle closing below the line. For a stop I will use the ATR x1.5.

Please give me some suggestions on how to minimize my risk and maximize my gains. Thanks.

2. spinn

spinn

why not use tick or volume charts so the price doesn't spike during those five minute bars?

3. You need to explain your strategy in more detail. You say you wait to see what the trend of the day is. Leaving aside how tricky that can be, are you looking for an uptrend to go long and vice versa for shorts? Then you said you wait for the high of the day to short. How do you determine that?

What is your time frame for holding? How do you decide to exit? What will cause you to exit early?

Buying pullbacks in uptrending stocks is a time-tested approach, at least in a bull market. Shorting downtrending stocks in my experience is far trickier.

4. you may be rely on your crystal balls too much. i mean how can you know in advance?

i can challenge you with the following statement: if you do random entry, at 2pm, and have a maximum holding period of 1.5 days (i.e. exit at the close of next day, at the market, if your profit target has not been hit), and trade in the direction of the trend (established by relevant moving averages)

this may do no worse, or even better than a mechanical system which tries to guess, more or less, using one's own crystall balls, or whatever, the direction of the market.