Please help a newb with Platform and Tools

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by transparenttrader, Apr 28, 2020.

1. Hi all, I'll keep the intro short and then get to my questions. I'm a new trader, been interested in it for years, finally diving in, and doing it right. I have a secure and well paying job in tech, so I view trading as a potential side income I'd do part time. I want to take every step right, I'm willing to do the work for years with no expectation of profit, that's fine with me. I'm consuming copious amounts of blogs, youtubes, and just finished "How to day trade for a living," and have 3-4 books queued up. I'm also practicing simulated trading daily, learning something every day.

And that gets to the crux of my problem I need guidance on. Platform and tools. I'm software engineer, and a commandline and keyboard wizard. I live in vim, which won't mean much to most, but suffice to say, my fingers can fly. For this reason, I really want a Platform with first class hotkey support along with everything else. And yes Tradestation appears to have that, but I have quite a few issues with their hotkeys personally that I'll elaborate on.

Ultimately here is what I want to find:
    • A platform that has the ability to bind hotkeys to everything, and toggleable hotkeys, not just a hotkey to add something.
    • Easy ability to switch chart time intervals with hotkeys
    • Easy ability to toggle indicators on charts
    • Window switching that is instantaneous (Tradestation has this weird 500ms-1s delay when you switch to a window where it re-draws the window with the window's menu)
    • Great stock scanner.