Playing earnings with backspread

Discussion in 'Options' started by akivak, Aug 20, 2010.

1. akivak

akivak

Recently I started playing earning with backspreads. Two examples:

Bought PCLN backspread (sold 1 240 call, bought 2 250 calls) one day before earnings when PCLN was at $233. The cost was $1.75. PCLN moved 18% after earnings, the backspread was sold for $16 – 814% return on debit and 212% return on margin.

Bought CRM backspread (sold 1 100 call, bought 2 105 calls) one day before earnings when CRM was at $97. The cost was $0.60. CRM moved 12% after earnings, the backspread was sold for $3.30 – 450% return on debit and 48% return on margin.

The beauty of this strategy is having an unlimited upside potential with very little risk. If you close it right after the earnings, your loss is limited to the debit paid even if the stock moves lower. In most cases, you should be able to recover at least part of the debit, but in any case, the required debit is usually very low. The breakeven point is usually only 3-4% move higher. Compared to buying straight call, the required capital is usually dramatically lower.

Any thoughts?

2. only concern is vega for the bs.

Spread might lose big time post earnings iv drop

3. I left the PCLN example in to show - the loss is not limited to the debit if the move goes to the higher strike and IV falls (esp. if time value was now nill), right? Pretend PCLN had gone to 249 for example and pretend it was expiration day. The 240 calls would be $900 against you and the $250s would be worthless. Yes, you can avoid this by not doing these backspreads the Thurs eve./Fri morn before expiration, but the point is that it is possible for the lower strike calls to gain/maintain value while the further strikes (that you have 2X of) lose value due to time decay/IV loss - normally this would be worst if the stock moves ITM on the shorts, but is still OTM for the long calls and the time left is very short and/or IV falls enough.