Plan for a Part Time Swing trader?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Trade4_Freedom, Jan 4, 2013.

1. Hi EliteTrader members, I am a beginner wanting to get into swing trading. I currently hold a full time job in Toronto, so I cannot trade the North American markets during work.

So I am thinking is it a good idea to trade the Hang Seng markets after work? They open a few hrs after I finish work.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

2. First, get your advice elsewhere. There are no successful traders here. I come here once in a while to entertain myself, and I actually trade worse afterwords.

Second, swing trading may be too short of a time frame for what you need. Try using 60 minute time bars, nothing shorter than that, and get a broker service that can set up OTO (One Triggers Other) orders. Then you can set up the order to buy at a limit price. And, when it is triggered, the order to sell at a lower limit price will activate.
    Do all the set-ups after market hours and make adjustments to the order Sunday through Thursday at your convenience. It'll take 15 minutes per day.
    With a good system, expect each trade to last 2 to 3 weeks on average, with a 3 to 5% return per month.

3. First, get your advice here. There are successful traders here. I come here once in a while to entertain myself, and I actually trade better afterwords.

Second, swing trading is the perfect time frame for what you need. Try using daily time bars, nothing shorter than that, and get a broker service. Then you can set up the order to buy at a market price by calling your broker after open on your cell phone. Follow the instructions on the one pager "unusual volume". Get the Universe using the seven part filter called PVT filter. (two googles are required)

Do all the planned trades after market hours and make adjustments to the plan on Sundays. It'll take 15 minutes per evening also