Piker's journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by HiFreekTrader, Mar 23, 2007.

1. I am a poor noob without much experience in trading, but with some know-how in computer programming.

After many years of hard working I was able to save $3k.
    In fact, a little more than that, but that's what I am willing to risk.
    I know you elite traders are all millionairs and will tell me that there is no place under sun for us poor pikers. The purpose of this thread is to prove the opposite.

I made some simulations and found an intra day trading system for US stocks that looks profitable. The system can be tuned to select only most profitable signals to return on average 1.5%/trade, but frequency will be only one signal per day. At the level of 0.8%/trade there will be ~5 signals a day. I'll start with larger average return setup, and will gradually move to larger frequency setup as my capital grows.

As everyone knows, there is a PDT rule that says: if you have less than $25k in your account, you must hold your shares overnight. You cant sell shares on the same day as you bought them. Luckily, this applies only to US brokers. So I am going to open an account with questrade.com, a canadian broker and I can trade intraday as much as I want.

2. Applied to the broker online, received some agreements to sign, and they requested a notarized copy of my passport. Printed, signed and sent them by mail. Now waiting for confirmation of account opening before wiring my $3k to them.

3. While waiting for paperwork to clear, continue to double-check the system.

Split adjustments are pain in the ass. I store end of day quotes in a database, and there is an "adjclose" column to account for splits / dividents. Real time quotes are in plain binary files, not adjusted. If I want to run simulations for some past date, I should reconstruct EOD quotes for that date, so that they match quotes in RT files.

4. Some backtesting results on 99-days period Sep06-Feb07: