Photography

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Joe, Dec 12, 2007.

1. Joe

Joe

Are there any professional photographers on Elite Trader?
    I want to become a professional photographer, any ideas on how I should get my start. I am a total novice, and the word aperture means nothing to me. Any resources that you would recommend. Feel free to post links, I will not ban you, Jk. :D

Thanks for the help,
    Joe

P.S.
    I'm in the Orlando area, if you know of any local resources.

2. A few book suggestions. "Photography and Black-Mail", "The Shakedown" is good too.:D

3. Joe

Joe

I'm looking to go digital, since it is the future.
    I don't mind spending a few thousand, however I'm a complete novice and would like to practice first before I dive into the deep end. I was looking for a good practice camera no more than a few hundred dollars to start, and then progress from there. Is this possible? Or are D-SLR's much more than I had thought?

4. I'm not a film purist/zealot or anything, but you will gain so much more insight by purchasing a cheap manual SLR camera and a basic dark room kit as well as your digital camera. Developing and printing your own work is the surest way to grasp the fundamentals of light and composition, plus it's fun, satisfying work and just looks so much cooler.
    Start off with black and white.
    You'll need to be pretty committed, but it definitely pays. Heres a great book...
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Photographe...=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1197550827&sr=1-2

5. Joe

Joe

I have heard what your saying is true, and would not mind starting off with a film camera to learn the basics. Eventually I would like to move into the digital direction.

6. You will have to spend a tad more than a few hundred, $500 should be OK.
    Canon 350D
    Nikon D40

7. maxpi

maxpi