PhD in Economics

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by WallStGolfer31, Sep 28, 2006.

1. WallStGolfer31

WallStGolfer31 Guest

I'm an undergraduate at a US university. I now plan on getting my PhD afterwards. Most I have found have the masters programs embedded within the PhD program. I've given it alot of thought, and I think this would be what I would find most enjoyable. (I'm majoring in finance and economics minor in mathematics, I was torn). I'd be looking for a position with a private firm, not really interested in government or academics.

I wanted to ask you guys here your advice. Crazy plan? No job market? or does this seem valid?

I've looked, most major banks hire PhD economists, so does GM & Ford and other auto makers, along with numerous consulting groups, and so do private economic forecasting firms lol. I guess If all else fails I could go back and teach lol, professors make like 80-100k a year in this field (at least they do in my school).

But I'd be looking to get into one of the big banks and work along side PM's.......

2. a phd from SUNY vs. a phd from Harvard?????

what school?

3. gnome

gnome

CULA or DeVry?

4. Yannis

Yannis

WallStGolfer31,

There have been some studies on this issue, comparing the career of people with BS, MS and PhDs over the period of years. Granted, these were conducted years ago, and education has become easier and more accessible to everyone since then, but I thought that the results were interesting:

1. If one looks at starting salary and position, of course, PhDs have a significant edge.

2. If one looks at salary and level 10 years later, the edge has diminished a lot.