Personal YM Journal - candlesticks and trend lines

Discussion in 'Journals' started by aaronwexler, Mar 15, 2007.

1. Hi there, I am a swing trader, trading the YM using candlesticks and Trend lines as my entry point and candlestick patterns as my exit point.

I wanted to start a public Journal to keep my "honest" with myself. This way if I stay out of or get into a trade that I should not have I have to post it to the public and hopefully that will help keep me from doing it.

Right now I am only trading hammers as my entry and dojis as my exit.

I am trading 1 contract at a time with a stop placed 15 ticks below the shadow of the hammer or trend line.

After 75 ticks of "profit" in my direction I move my stop to BE

I am only trading long positions in up trending or sideways trending markets as determined by support and resistance.

I am not as concerned with the exact shape of the hammers I trade off of, ie. the shadow being at least 2 times the size of the body, what is important is that the price has had a reaction or a support line.

I usually get about a signal to trade every 3 weeks or so in a trending market, and I am working on a system for day trading and also for swing trading in a downward trending market and will update the journal when that happens.

That being said there was a very nice looking hammer on the 14th but the market is still down trending so I am waiting for at least on set of higher highs and higher lows. The hammer was also not off any obvious trend line it might have been off of a fib line depending where you trace it from. See file below

I welcome input but please keep it constructive, positive, and or informative.

Thank you

• 3_14.jpg
      File size:
      120.6 KB
      Views:
  2. Great Aaron !! You and I have somewhat similiar styles. I am intraday trading the YM. And Hammers do come into my strategy as well as PPs and S/R.......