Personal intraday circuit breakers

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by chinook, Jun 7, 2003.

1. I've been daytrading stocks on and off for about five years. I've been trading only NQ for the last seven months. I wish I had been trading e-minis longer! By following ES and NQ everyday, I'm learning something new about how markets move (or chop) and most importantly about myself!

I have couple of simple indicators that I developed based on price, volume and market breadth. I have my psychological, entry, exit and position sizing rules written down on a sheet of paper which I keep next to my PC. I know that if I obey these rules day after day absolutely without any exceptions, I will be able to become a full-time trader.

Some days once I start breaking my rules, I get out of control during the rest of that day. I feel as if "a second mind" takes control of me and I start taking risky trades and start overtrading. I usually do 3-4 roundturns per day. When I overtrade, I sometimes reach 10-15 roundturns! What I'm discovering is that somedays I can obey my rules 100% and somedays I just can't obey them even for a single trade.

The following two conditions push me into a self-destructive state and I start disobeying my rules:
    1) A daily loss > $x
    2) A daily profit > $y

I'm imposing two new rules on myself.
    1) Stop trading for the day if daily loss=$x
    2) Stop trading for the day if ( Max. Daily Profit>$y and
    current profit < 0.75*Max. Daily Profit)

These are my personal circuit breakers. Basically, these two rules form a trailing stop for my intraday equity curve.

These are very simple rules and I've seen them many times in books and articles. I just can't believe that it took me a long time to realize that I absolutely need them!

I'm wondering what kind of circuit breakers other traders have.

Thanks,

Chinook

2. When I'm not trading well, I will cut my position size in half.

That helps me get back in the grove.