Permit me to open a can of worms...

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by traderdan, Apr 14, 2007.

1. traderdan

traderdan

First off, let me say that I am new here, so please indulge me a bit. Second, let me add that I have been thru the software reviews already, and seemed to find so many conflicting opinions at times, that I thought I would try this means for help...

(But first the background)

I have been trading off/on now for many years, usually on a more fundamental/gut level. Most of the time I have been successful and "beaten the avges". I also avoided getting decimated in the dot-com bubble bust and subsequent decline in the markets and economy. On the other hand, I stayed out of the markets mostly over the past few years by parking cash in "safe" investments that did not return all that much. A big part of my absence was by choice, as I had a lot on my plate with my company/family. Now my time is opening up a bit.

I just finished Covel's book (which many here pan -- see I do do my reading before I ask) and it helped renew my interest in "trading" again. Did I learn a lot from it? Not really, other than I believe I have the discipline to work with a mechanical trading system AND... that technical analysis is not some sort of voodoo form or trading if used as a trend spotting/following system. Before reading Covel (and Pit Bull -- hugely engaging!), I might not have "understood" the true value of TA.

You may also find it odd that I got a big boost to restart trading from reading only a small part of Ken Fisher's latest book. Who knows where inspiration comes from, eh?

Anyway.

So here I am, on what may be the best support site around seeking support.

I want to begin working with TA for "trend following". My target markets would be financial futures as well as stocks and possibly options (though I admit I know little about options yet, I am a voracious reader and do not throw money at the wall lightly).