Percentage of Successful Trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Bluegar3, Nov 11, 2006.

1. Hi,

I have been a professional poker player for about 2.5 years. Due to the recent legislation that passed banning internet poker for the most part I am on search to find a new gig.

Bright Trading in Las Vegas, NV has a month long class that you attend where they teach you the ins and outs of day trading. Because this is something that interests me, I think I'll give it a shot.

I was wondering a couple of things... What is the percentage of traders that actually make it? Percentage of trader who make over 100,000? 250,000?. Any information about the odds of sucess would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Brian

2. The National Futures Association says on average, that it takes about 5 years and a loss of $35,000 just to become profitable. That study was for day trading.

Some say around 90-95% fail in 3-6 months. I've read about some very successful traders and they said it took about 7 years to reach their peak.

I say it doesn't matter what the stats are. It's totally up to you.

Everyone is different. Some pick up on it right away. Some never get it.

Try it out.

3. i had a fellow trader that went to a Bright Training seminar in LV, NV just to feel it out and his opinion of it was that it was a little shady... apparently they claimed that their WIN % is around 80%?!?!? no f'n way...

his thoughts on it were that they basically have people come in and then they sell a bunch of subscriptions and pair trading strategies, etc to make their money. there is no risk to the company and a lot of profit potential on their side.

4. depending on your trading style, and the size of the risked points relative to targeted points, 80% is not impossible

1) if you have preconceived notions (without data) as to what is impossible, you are setting yourself up for mediocre performance