People matter the most...

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by ematters, Oct 4, 2003.

1. ematters

ematters

I am a programmer, and I'm trying to use my competences in the best way to help me for my trading, which is of course coming down with some kind of technical trading system based on analysis by some program.

The thing is, I personnaly believe that the most important variable in trading is not the trends in term of stock prices or markets, but rather trends of how people trade... The where, when who and why do people buy this and sell that. If everybody decides they want to buy a certain stock, that stock's gonna skyrocket whatever the company is and what is its financial situation. The people decide, then the prices follow. So obviously I dont want to base all my analysis on predicting prices (the consequence), but rather on predicting people's trends (the cause). But the question is, how can I do that (besides than in my own head)?

Unfortunatly, these is no factual data available on this I believe. I would like to get my hands on that kind of info, either if it's via surveys or maybe some report somewhere, please let me know if you know any source of data I could use to tap into the psychology of the market, not just the prices :)

2. Welcome to ET, ematters.

I was a programmer, actually they called it a software engineer in those days. They gave me a computer and some piece of newly developed networking hardware, and I had to learn C and assembly language and write a driver for that device.

Anyhoo, I tried to calculate and program a lot, and I actually focussed on price action. Now I think I might have just as well played MsPacMan instead.