PATTERNS -- So These REALLY Work???

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by al c., Mar 16, 2003.

1. al c.

al c.

Hi,

I am new to this forum and would like to get some opinions.

As you know there are many different "patterns" that are recognized as valuable and repeating chart patterns. Some that we all have seen are the "Head & Shoulders" or the "Wedge", "Symetrical Triangles", etc.

Well, I am an experienced trader and have used many so-called patterns. If one could quickly "spot" them and know how to trade them -- then CONSISTENT profits should follow !

It really should be that easy. Find a proven Pattern -- Determine the Risk -- and then Enter the trade when the pattern has completed. SIMPLE right?

Well, if patterns really work and you are an experience trader then Consistent Profits should result. (Providing you are also following a proper money management system).

I would welcome your comments on this. Since I believe most of us make trading way to complicated and lack a disciplined system.

I also would ask: What patterns do you use and what do you think are the MOST successful ones?

I WILL Gladly SHARE my experience with patterns for the benefit of all those interested. I am very willing to BACK up my post here with actual trading charts and examples.

The INTENT of this Thread: To compare patterns and RESULTS. If some are "non-believers" I can post "Real Time" ala the wonderful Seanote.

I hope you guys have some interest in Sharing and Learning together.

2. MACD

MACD

Thanks alc for starting this thread.

Yes, patterns do work. Been using them for years and profitably. I would welcome any of your "tricks" for maximizing profits utiling patterns.

Glad to see that you are willing to make calls live as this will show us what you are doing and how profitable your system really is.

Thanks.

3. MACD

MACD

In my last post I meant "utilizing" patterns...

Sorry.

4. I use patterns exclusively when swing trading.