pattern day traders going to$75,000 minimum

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by zdreg, May 4, 2010.

1. zdreg

zdreg

http://etfdailynews.com/blog/2010/0...l-etfs-faz-fas/

For example, pattern day traders in margin accounts using ProShares funds that multiply returns by a factor of 2 would have a $50,000 minimum daily maintenance requirement. Such traders favoring Direxion triple-exposure funds would have a $75,000 minimum daily maintenance requirement.”

2. Very misleading as it will only effect those who trade leveraged ETF's.

-Guru

3. D'oh.
    I've been witing for about 3 years for the PDT rule to be removed, not have the minimum A/C balance increased!! lol

4. zdreg

zdreg

it is not misleading as the small trader does occasionally trade leveraged etfs on margin.
    it is a useful piece of info for him and hopefully u will find it useful also.

5. PatternRec

PatternRec Guest

Geez guy, yes it's misleading. Thread title should have been specific. Especially since the majority of Leveraged ETFs are traded in cash accounts and not margin.

The way you titled it made it seem like it applies to pattern day trading margin rule for stocks.

In any event, for leveraged ETFs, you simply multiply the leverage ETF's return factor by $25,000 to find your PDT minimum margin.

This rule was seen as coming since it was supposed to be implemented in December of last year.

6. 'does occasionally' should tell you that you should have worded the thread title differently. Although, I'd wager to guess you did it this way on purpose.

:D

:p

7. businessstaxes

businessstaxes Guest

ETF are low risk for daytraders and investors and you don't see 50% gap downs overnight...and more difficult for market makers to manipulate and trade against retail daytraders.

$50,000 just to daytrade? there was a time when there was no PDT and anyone can daytrade with no minimum $$$ to daytrade.