Patience Hell, I Am Going Out And Trade

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by ronlewis, Feb 22, 2008.

1. ronlewis

ronlewis

I have written several articles on trading psychology. I am going to post the articles here. I would appreciate any comments or thoughts about what you read. Thanks... Ron

Patience Hell, I Am Going Out And Trade

This article could have been named “Patience, A Trader’s Lament” or Patience, The Key To Consistency” or any number of titles but I wanted to get your attention. And now that I have, you are probably saying isn’t trading what I am supposed to do? I am a trader! The short answer is no, not necessarily. Some times the best trade is no trade at all. Cash is, after all, a position.

I just got off the phone with a trading friend of mine. We normally go over the previous trading day and let each other critique our perspective trading styles. As a side note, if you don’t already have a “trading buddy,” I strongly encourage you to find someone that you can bounce ideas off of and go over various strategies with. It is amazing how a different perspective will improve your trading results and give you insight into another way of looking at the market. Do we always agree? Nope, usually we don’t. But it is still important to have a second opinion about what you are seeing in the market. Anyway, back to this morning’s conversation. I was telling him that I was a little bit frustrated by the fact that I only had one trade yesterday and, even though that trade was a winner, I felt that I had left a lot of points on the table. His answer to me is really what trading is all about.

Did You Adhere To Your Trading Plan?