parity and arbitrage

Discussion in 'Options' started by RainmanRam, Jun 4, 2009.

1. I'm new to options and have some outstanding in the money covered calls coming due this month. I'm considering rolling the up and forward for a credit but have a timing question.

Looking at the positions, they are currently 2% of the underlying from parity. At what point do I start risking arbitrage assignment? Are there any metrics that would help time this decision? I'd imagine volitility would have to be taken into account somehow.

One position is on a $10 underlying and the other is on a $27 underlying. So the minimum bid/ask spreads come in at .5% and .2% respectively. I'd suspect the .5% would be more at risk of arbitrage but have no idea how to relate the two.

Any insights or suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks,
    Ray

2. I'd love to help, but I find the lack of details so overwhelming that I simply do not understand what you are asking.

What does 'they are 2% of the underlying from parity' mean? You say the options are ITM.

Is it 2% in the money?

Is the premium over parity 2%?

What the heck is 'arbitrage assignment?'

How about this:

Ask again. Omit commentary and just provide details.
    Stock price, option strike. Bid/ask if you care to supply it. What option do you want to roll into. etc

Thanks

Mark

3. CLF trading around 28.31
    Short the Jun 24 call bid 4.60 ask 4.80
    Thinking of rolling to the Jul 25 call bid 4.90 ask 5.10

I've seen the net credit higher than this but that's not relevant.

The Jun 24 with a bid of 4.60 is .29 from parity which is just over 1% the underlying.

As the option gets closer to parity the chance of assignment by arbitrageurs increases significantly.

Thanks,
    Ray