Paranoid Effect?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by NoviceTrader, Nov 20, 2002.

1. I recently started trading. I had been working pretty hard for over 3 years developing a system, paper trading etc... I have performed pretty well. I've had all up weeks and only a few down days. I had started a Journal online but it wasn't any good becuase I was leaving it vague and incomplete. I do keep a much more detailed journal at home. Personally I am pleased to begin my trading career under this difficult market environment.

Back to the point. I recently made an advance in my own trading style that has made my trading even better. The result had a paranoid effect. I have stopped entries in my journal. Its like I found a pile of gold and don't want anyone else to have it. Has anyone else experienced this??? This is an interesting emotion. Its selfish, greedy and secretive. I'm not sure I like it. On the other hand the more success the stronger I feel.

I'm going to call this the (Lord of the Ring's effect)

2. I think it is normal to have these feelings of possessiveness for those things we work long and hard for. I know I've searched high and low and endured many a deprivation to find my (potential) gold mine. I'm not going to tell everybody where it is. To do so would not honor my fortitude and inventiveness. To do so would say I'm not worthy. There must be reward for individual efforts or everyone would just lie around and wait for handouts, and that would get us nowhere.

"If one is lucky, a solitary fantasy can totally transform one million realities."
    - Maya Angelou

3. Don't worry about it. Come back in 30 days and let us know if it is still a problem.

4. I have the same problem. Last week I found a twenty lieing on the sidewalk and instantly grabbed it and hid behind a sign on the sidewalk. I knew "they" saw me get it first and that "they" would try to take it away from me, but I wouldn't let them.