Panic Zone Trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by ctrader, Jan 22, 2004.

1. ctrader

ctrader

I'm going to stake out my journal here.

Goal: Simple, swing trading strategy that generates a minimum of trades. Trade one stock only. Make 30% in 1 calendar year.

Strategy:

1. Trade only SMH, based primarily on 60 min panic zone charts.
    2. Contain my risk at 1% of account size per trade.
    3. Only consider a trade when SMH has reach panic zone.
    4. Enter trade when major trendline on the 60 min chart has been broken.
    Stop is just above recent low/high.
    5. Use trailing stop based on intraday support/resistance formed since
    entering the trade. If/when the stock moves to the other side of the
    channel, become agressive with the trailing stop as the stock has a high
    chance of reversing from this level.

Trades:

I started trading already this year. First trade was a loss, stop out at 1% loss. Currently short SMH.

02/01/2004 SMH 41.6 SHORT
    05/01/2004 SMH 42.08 COVER -1% account loss

2004-01-13 SMH 44.9840 SHORT.

Stop is above recent highs now, trailing it down as SMH makes lower highs.

2. Ever considered to trade baskets? The advantage is that almost every day you get a signal. Usually, the performance increases and the risk is lower, too.
    Regards.

3. ctrader

ctrader

what do you mean by baskets?

thanks.

4. ctrader

ctrader

5. ctrader

ctrader

Covered at 42.15.

Going long at 42.15 stop is below yesterdays low.

6. JohnK

JohnK

ctrader,

What's a panic zone and how do you play it? In other words, what's the decision making process to enter your trades?

7. ctrader

ctrader

Panic zone is a chart offered by the uptrend.com, it looks like this:

http://www.theuptrend.com/Our_story_images/goldpz.gif

I am using the smh 60 min chart (available only to subscribers).

The chart is created using spectral analysis projected back into the time domain so that we might see the cycles on the chart.