Overall strategies - what works for you?

Discussion in 'Options' started by scriabinop23, Jun 27, 2006.

1. I'm new to this game, and have been studying quite a bit. I started trading options for the first time several months ago. Had a bad experience overleveraging myself buying too much of the wrong direction at the wrong time. (isn't that classic !!!)

Well, thankfully I didn't gamble the whole portfolio. I lost about 4% of my total portfolio in addition to what I lost in my normal other investments (mutual funds, some international funds, and a basket of stocks that is generally pretty conservative [low beta]).

The interesting thing is - instead of me deciding to quit options and go back to my old ways, I had an epiphany with the realization that the amount of risk my normal portfolio is in. [i am about 70% invested in conventional stock equity instruments] I think I've lucked out on my stock picking in the last few years, so I've gotten complacent as to the possible downsides (that is, until the internationals popped recently).

Because of all of this, I've geared down, studied strategies, studied -proper- money management (ie trading option qty's in a way that doesn't cause much drawdown when you do poorly), etc. --- and I've come to a realization: In this higher interest rate period we're entering, I want to get out of equities almost entirely, go to cash/bonds/higher-yield items, and get my excess returns from the options side of my portfolio. This way I can use interest production from the bulk of my portfolio to hopefully offset most option buying costs.

Now the point of the message - there seems to be quite a few options games out there - but I've conceptually reduced them to two classes (1: sell, 2: buy):