Over educated.

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by Swoop, May 24, 2001.

1. Swoop

Swoop

My head hurts from the brokerage BS. I have been trading for 6 months, took a 30 percent bath the first 5 months on my stock choices. In the last month I got my act together and I'm 15 percent to the good on my cash start-up. 2 to 4 trades a day (5,000 to 10,000 shares per trade.) Looking to transfer my account to a company that offers Level 2. Most of my looking has lead me to believe they are all crap. Does anyone actually know of a company that does not rape you with charges and have a good software offering that does not hang, freeze, or creep along with quotes. I love to trade but need good tools to work with. My style is to swoop in, take a penny or 3, or 4, and get out.

2. jmcgraw

jmcgraw

Swoop:

Just out of curiosity... Why did you name the thread "over educated". :)

3. I used to use mbtrading.com (several years ago) when I was daytrading. They have an intro $5 commission per trade for the first month or two, but it sounds like you are trading 1k or more shares.. I think the commission is $20 or so (check their site) for normal 1k-2k lots. Even a $30 commission is a tiny percentage of the capital when trading 1k-5k shares, so I would focus on quality/speed of execution rather than price. When I was with MBT, I had a T1 line and rarely experienced problems except when nasdaq had problems. I used to laugh when the datekers, esignoids, and others were constantly complaining about the system freezing and things like that (disclaimer: I'm sure nowadays these other systems are highly reliable and fast!). Anyway, probably any of the real-tick 3 vendors will be good. If you really want to be sure the system is working quickly and reliably, you should probably go to one of these on-site trading facilities since they often have redundant T1/T3s and the like.

4. Swoop

Swoop