Ordertransfer from Ensign to IB

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by futbee, Feb 2, 2004.

1. futbee

futbee

Hi,

it is possible, to programm a DLL in Delphi, named ESPL.dll, and communicate from Ensign with ESPL to this dll.
    I will transfer a order from Ensign to IB.
    Is it possible, to connect from the dll to the IB-ActiveX element?
    I've no experience with Delphi and VB.Net will not work with standard-dll.
    Can anyone show an example how to include the IB-ActiveX into the Delphi-dll?

Thanks

2. croc1964

croc1964

Hi,

you should do it the following way:
    Send the order to the ESPL.dll
    this ESPL.dll then uses the windows messaging system to transfer the order to a program of your choice, which has access to the free IB API.
    I have such a link working from Ensign to FuturesTrader, my IB Frontend (www.futures-trader.net) and it would b no problem to expand this existing link to send an order to FuturesTrader, which then get's executed.

Contact me at croc1964@futures-trader.net if you are interested.

Regards,

Chris

3. The simple interface that allows to send that via Dynaorder is here:
    http://www.dynaorder.com/3rdparties.asp

It is created by our user for usage with Ensign and to execute the orders in IB (or any other compatible broker) via Dynaorder.

4. rwk

rwk

I use Delphi with IB's TSWAPI, but use Ross Hemingway's socket component (http://www.hhssoftware.com/iabsocketapi/), not ActiveX. I have used ActiveX to access the TC2000 database. Accessing ActiveX in Delphi was a bit daunting at first, because it is not very well documented. It can be done, but I don't recommend it for TSWAPI, since there is a much better way.

In answer to your original question: yes, I think so.

[Richard]

5. futbee

futbee

Thanks for the very important input. It shows several ways. I will test it, and when I have further questions, I'll come back.

futbee

6. futbee

futbee

I've tested the following in Delphi:
    library ESPL;
    uses