Orders from hotkeys are executing at worst possible prices

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by Whip, Jul 13, 2020.

1. Whip

Whip

Hi Guys, I'm new to trading and I opened a demo account with CMEG and using the Trader Elite Pro platform. I'm trying to use hotkeys to enter and exit the markets but they don't seem to be working.

In the screenshot you can see y settings for the hotkey. I have the price set at Ask + 0.05. Whenever I press the hotkey, it creates a buy order at that price even though the market is not at the price, for example if price is at 2.25 and I press the hotkey, my entry is 2.3 even if the market never goes there, and there are a bunch of sellers at 2.25, 2.26 and so on. What am I missing here?
    2020-07-13.jpg

2. this shouldn't happen. May be because it is Demo acc. Live account should execute at best offer available through+.5. Try to change price to only ask in Demo. One more thing, in demo you will get execution of all quantity no matter how many are available at bid or offer at that price. e.g. if offer has 200 qty for 20.4 and next offer is of 100qty at 20.50. Your demo will execute a order of 10000 qty at 20.40 if yo want to. Live account execution is very different than Demo. Also you will get executed even if 1 qty print on your order price in demo but not in live account.

3. Whip

Whip

Yeah I think this demo account is stupid. The market was at 2.50 and I tried a buy order at $1 and it executed that and showed me an instant $150 profit (100 shares). This is not gonna help me, I'd rather fund an account and buy really small quantities to practice. Yeah?

stochastix likes this.
  4. themickey

themickey

Yes, but be very careful of feeling confident and increasing size.
    Trading has a deceptive lure that can makes us greedy. Very difficult to overcome.
    Stay small, consistency is your prize, not big returns.

Mckennon and prorealtimetrader like this.
  5. Stockboy

Stockboy