OptionsXpress alternatives?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by specula, Jan 30, 2008.

1. specula

specula

I've just joined EliteTrader. I'm a semi-novice position trader interested mostly in futures options, but also futures and a little in stock options.

I had an account with XpressTrade (XT) that was transferred to the OptionsXpress (OX) platform during the merger, last December.

So far, I've had some difficulty with my on-line account records. OX customer support eventually fixed it, after quite a bit of prompting on my part. Also, compared to XT, I find the OX platform cumbersome for trading futures and futures options. I've also read some of the other threads regarding OX and I'm a little concerned.

Now I'm wondering about getting another on-line broker.

Any advice from former XT traders (or anyone else) about OX?

Do you find OX a suitable trading platform for futures and futures options?

Or would you recommend moving to another broker?

Any suggestions for an alternate broker(s)?

Thanks.

2. I'm also looking for an alternative to OX.
    I'm not a US citizen/resident, so OX doesn't allows me to trade futures.

I had noticed that OX is slower now. I swing trade, or position trade, so it isn't a big deal.

IMO the best alternative may be thinkorswim, altough they don't offer you all the futures OX has.

3. rickf

rickf

4. specula

specula

I looked briefly at thinkorswim (ToS), as crgarcia mentioned, it has much less available compared to OX. That, so far, is the only problem I have with them. I've seen other threads about this issue, were ToS expects to add more futures "soon". Who knows when they'll do it.

To rickf: Since, you recommend against OXPS, do you have any recommendations for any other brokers?

I also looked at Interactive Brokers (IB), but I don't qualify since I have less than 100+ trades under my belt. I didn't bother pursuing them. I'm I being naive about that? Or is IB for 'seasoned' traders only?