Optionsellers.com goes bust and the apology video is painful to watch

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by Sweet Bobby, Nov 17, 2018.

TraDaToR and MACD like this.
  2. ouch!!! Feel for the clients in this one. As a learning trader, I feel there is lots to learn from this experience.

Q... why couldn't the hedge fund hedge the position? I understand they were naked premium sellers. Couldn't they convert their naked put to short strangle? Or close the position, or buy calls... I don't follow the crude or NG market but it looked like while the move was strong, it wasn't an instantaneous or one day affair.

Similarly, would going in as an iron condor or a similar multi-leg strategy have helped their position? Or were the spreads too wide for that strategy to make sense after the market started to move?

thank you for your feedback!

3. Oh man.
    That looked like a guy saying farewell before going to the electric chair.

I’m assuming the Natty gas short squeeze got them?

Anyone know how much AUM he had?

dealmaker likes this.
  4. ZBZB

ZBZB

So would they have survived if they sold credit spreads?

Abundance Magnet likes this.
  5. dealmaker

dealmaker

It seems he was caught by a rogue wave more than once....
    [​IMG]
    Business News
    $200 million futures scandal snares 2 Tampa brokerages
    By Michael Sasso | Tribune Staff
    Published: July 10, 2012
    Updated: March 18, 2013 at 08:17 PM