Options underlying advice?

Discussion in 'Options' started by TraderGreg, Jul 26, 2008.

1. I'm a small time trader, and I will be doing generally two or three options per trade. I have been paper trading for about three weeks, but I'm having a problem picking solid underlyings for my strategy.

I am purchasing long puts and calls with a time frame of 2-5 days. Because of this, I searched industry-to-industry for stocks with trading volume over 1,000 (first in money calls and puts separately), with spreads less than 6% (bid-ask of same puts and calls), and in the top 1-4 of their industry (very general rule, had to be a big enough company to trade).

With these specification, I developed a list of about 45 stocks to trade, along with the ETFs of QQQQ, SPY, DIA, IWM (didn't look into further ETFs at that point yet).

Anyway, my goal was to be diversified enough to find several setups and have a nearly neutral position on the overall market (actually I decided if i was bullish i would by put/call 2:4 and vice versa).

However, I found that nearly all my underlyings flow with the market. If the market goes up, I made a bundle, and the only puts that didn't fail were negative betas like oil (so much for netting near neutral). I couldn't find put setups while the market was rising, and my calls failed when it turned. The opposite was true.

I found myself netting 4%, 7%, and 5% during the weeks, but I was constantly cutting calls when the market turns and puts when it turned back. I didn't like my exposure.

So, I started looking at more ETFs, and considering options on global ETFs, but there were very few that met my liquidity specifications.

Any insight or advice? Thanks for your help!

Best Regards,

Greg

2. spindr0

spindr0