Options Strategy Drawbacks?

Discussion in 'Options' started by rmarvin001, Dec 8, 2009.

1. I have been trading options for the last two years and have recently started employing a reverse diagonal spread strategy in sim mode. In my virtual trading, I have been quite successful and am thinking of employing it live. What are the drawbacks of this strategy.

An example for all to comment on follows:

XYZ Current Share Price: $100

Buy 500 Jan $130 Calls @ $0.82
    Implied Vol: 57.5

Sell 500 March $155 Calls @ $0.86
    Implied Vol: 52.6

Typical Volatility is low 40's,upper 30's. Earnings are to be announced in December.

The trade (excluding commissions) nets an initial credit of $2,000. ($43,000 versus -$41,000)

It appears that there is limited downside risk and incredible upside benefit, especially with a blowout earnings report. If you were to have an exit date of between 12/24 and end of the month, it is hard to see how you could lose much, especially when considering the upside potential.

Thoughts?

2. Since I seldom do small lots ( 500 contracts ) like yourself..... my thinking is that you may want to think about starting with 1 contract. Hope you have the margin.....i believe most firms look at the backside of your trade as being naked. Also what possibly could go wrong with the trade you are looking at ......it almost appears to be risk free.....( and they claim that options carry risk......who knew ) ? I have been trading options for 2 days now and it seems to be easy money.:p

3. spindr0

spindr0

Drawbacks?

Near month expires near strike for a total loss on your long leg (-$41,000) while your short/naked position more than quadruples in value against you.

For some reason, IV expands, further magnifying your losses.

Margin increases as the underlying increases and as the premium increases.