Options, Put and Call on the same stock. (Long)

Discussion in 'Options' started by Johnny V, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Johnny V

Johnny V

I am an extreme newbie to trading. I am trying to learn as much as possible before investing. One of the things that I came across are options. From what I have read this is what I have gathered. Please correct if i am wrong...

I can do a put or a call option on stock A and if I have a call and the stock goes up I can execute my call and make money (minus the contract). If this does not happen in a designated time then the option expires and I lose the contract money.

If I do a put to sell then if the stock drops and I exercise my option to put then I purchase at the current price and can resell at my option price.

Do I have it correct so far?

If so then I could do what I used to do when gambling on football. I would find 2 people to bet with and bet on the same game. With person A I would bet straight (without a spread) and bet person b with the spread but I would bet on the opposite team. That way if the score came out in the middle of the spread I would get paid from both bets and if it fell outside of the spread then basically person A would pay person B.

Now with options I should be able to do the same thing (only opposite). If I buy 2 options (1 put/ 1 get) on the same stock and watch it for the 3 months. If it goes up I can exercise my call and just let the put expire or vise versa if it goes down exercise my put and let the call expire. With Scottrade each contract is 1.25 so on a 100 share block I would have to make sure that it either went up or went down more than 264 bucks to cover the contract and trade fee. The only way that I could lose is if the stock that I chose did not climb or fall more than $2.64 in a 3 month period. And if it ends up rocketing in either direction I have the potential at a huge return.

Please correct my thinking if this is not possible.

Thanks in advance,
    JV