Options profit/loss vs probability and the rewards

Discussion in 'Options' started by Melch002, Jul 29, 2021.

1. Melch002

Melch002

I’m new to trading and only paper trade and learn on Thinkorswim. I’m interested in put credit spreads (out of the money) and these trades is what I am testing and learning.

The following numbers are for the put credit spread of AAPL September 3 2021, with the stock trading at about $ 145. (recorded on July 30 2021)

The strike 136/135 has a “risk” of 24% expiring in the money and a maximum profit of $ 16 for risking $ 84, this gives a maximum return of 19%.

The strike 137/136 has a “risk” of 26% expiring in the money and a maximum profit of $ 19 for risking $ 81, this gives a maximum return of 23,4%.

For 10% increase in risk (24% to 26% risk increase) the market offers 23% more possible returns (the returns increase from 19% to 23,4).

My question: is this a statistical correct comparison, and if yes, how is this relation/phenomenon between the probability of expiring in the money and the maximum return called? Why is there more than twice as much return compared to the increased risk? I like to learn more about the background.

2. guru

guru

I'm assuming that ToS does some custom calculations to show some type of "risk", however they came up with it. Doesn't mean anything since no one can predict the future.