Options Portfolio

Discussion in 'Options' started by HtownTrader, Aug 29, 2018.

1. How many stocks/options do you follow/look to trade? And how many positions are usually in your portfolio at any given time?

Trying to find that middle ground between following enough tickers so I can get in enough trades and enough different tickers to diversify, yet not follow too many that it becomes detrimental as I don't focus enough on each one to make the best decision possible.

2. smallfil

smallfil

For me, I hold onto about 5 options trades at one time. When I close one position, I usually, put another trade on. That is a good number to follow. Not too many but, enough to give you substantial returns on your options trades. I am an options directional swing trader. I look thru multiple stockcharts daily because you never know what you will find. Do not have a fixed watchlist. At times, you cannot find any setups and other days, there are lots of setups. Then, you have to pick which ones would probably, give you the best bang for the risk you are taking on that trade.

3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

I cheat.
    I watch 500.

SPX.

:D

4. TheBigShort

TheBigShort

What your describing sounds more like a stock portfolio. For an options book you want to look at it like a matrix of multiple risks. If you want to use options as a directional tool you are in for a ride, be ready to say "What the F*&^ I guessed the direction right, why is my position down!!!!". Build a strategy, then build a screener. But IMO trade the underlying not the option.

5. It depends...right now I am in something like 22 names (this is extremely heavy for me), and on some of those I'm holding 3 or 4 options contracts. I'm pretty much at the limit of what I can manage with this much--and position management is taking up about 3/4 of my day...but that massive total number of individual legs is very much a function of being built in after a few weeks of signals firing off like crazy.