Options PnL

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by Hunnusunnu, Jun 28, 2018.

1. Everyone wants success. But how many have seen real success?

I want to know what success is. Show me.

What does the historical PnL table of a successful option trader look like?

What does the equity curve of a successful consistent option trader look like?

2. If I turn mine upside down, you would realize what a great year I’m having!

golightlys likes this.
  3. Boowahhhhaaaaooooowwaahhhhha.

4. darcymac

darcymac

Here's a graph of my closed PnL over about 13 months (since I started trading this particular strategy).

In this account I sell vertical spreads on stocks I like. They are $5 or $10 wide spreads centered ATM, 45 or 60 DTE.

Unrealized $ (22,795)
    Realized $ 101,610
    Avg Return 8.13%
    Avg Days in Trade 24.45
    Current margin $ 75,822
    Positions Open 14

Total Trades 226
    Pct Wins 78.76%
    Pct Losers 21.24%
    Avg Win 22.61%
    Avg Loss -45.55%
    Avg Return 8.13%

pnl.png

I'm probably not what you're looking for though. I'm just using option delta to leverage stock picks. I think that when most people talk about successful options trades, they're thinking about non-directional stuff, like these guys that buy straddles into earnings or the guys selling volatility premium or the like. Not my game, but I know plenty of guys that succeed there.

Hunnusunnu likes this.
  5. Thanks for the answers. I am inspired.

Darcymac you have an amazing record. I wish I could produce the same.

Sweet Bobby. What happened to you?

Last edited: Jun 30, 2018