Options math 101 - Net returns from an unexercised put

Discussion in 'Options' started by tonyf, Jul 23, 2020.

1. tonyf

tonyf

I am new to all this... Say I sell a short dated put and do not mind owning the underlying at the strike price.
    An example is this TSLA put, where I am OK owning TSLA shares @ 1,505.

upload_2020-7-23_21-3-3.png

Now say that this option expires unexercised (price never reached the strike) - am I right that my total P&L for this trade is ($9,498 minus $45,589*borrow rate)?

If so, how can I find out how much of my equity is being "locked away" so I an use the calculation above to compute an actual return on equity?

Thank you

Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
  2. ffs1001

ffs1001

Your total profit (assuming TSLA price never reaches 1505) is $9,498.

Your margin is 50,147+45,589. But remember that the maintenance margin will change every day and will go up if TSLA falls.

Your ROI will be based (roughly) on the above 2 figures. As a dirty figure, it's around 10%

You didn't ask for this advice, but I cannot resist - pls don't do this unless you have $145K sitting in your account, and are genuinely happy to own TSLA at this price.
    Your short put is ATM right now, and TSLA can easily fall 200 points before you can say "What the hell was I thinking?"

Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
  3. Wouldn't it just be 9498/45589, for a return on margin of 20.8%?

Money to maintain the position is (currently) $45,589. So that is how much is locked away.

Edit: looks like ffs has a better answer. I don't short options anymore. And, as he says, please be damn careful!

.sigma and ironchef like this.
  4. tonyf

tonyf

I did say i was happy owning the underlying :)
    Your ROI calc is a bit confusing, where is the equity component? Margin only matters in terms of cost of funding, right?

5. tonyf

tonyf

That was my initial understanding but that is called Maintenance Margin. How much of that is borrow and how much is equity?

6. guru

guru

1. Yes.