Options Action on CNBC

Discussion in 'Options' started by syswizard, Nov 14, 2009.

1. Anyone watching it want to comment on the same-old, same-old trade recs week after week ? I'm talking about the collar positions they recommend: high margin requirements, low profit, but low risk.
    I don't quite "see the point".
    Latest one was ERTS - sell a low strike put to fund a high strike call.

2. erol

erol

trades are too risky for me, but i'm still a noob.

I guess they don't mind being long below the puts' strike

3. whats so bad about that?

4. It's too slow to make a decent return, no ?

5. Jesus

Jesus

Jeez man. You have a lot to learn.

Sometimes slower and safer is better. Like you said, it has a smaller reward but it RISKS LESS, and the traders on option action think their trades have a good probability of being profitable. You don't need to try to shoot for the moon on every trade.

But then again,
    Thats why they are on TV and you are on ET.

6. You got me there....but let's go back to that disasterous trade by Stacy Gilbert on the long bet on Bidu....right before earnings.
    So now who's got a lot to learn ?
    Answer: even the best pros.

7. Jesus

Jesus

I agree, everyone has a lot to learn. But you much more than the people on options action. So what if she made one bad trade. We all do. But she likely limited her losses and moved on.

8. I didn't see the specific show, but from other episodes I've seen I suspect she knew earnings were coming up, her losses were limited, and she made a bet on which way things would fall out.

If so, that's not a disastrous trade, just one (of many if you trade) that didn't work.

BTW: the cynic in me suspects Susquehanna took a chunk of the other side.

I actually think the show has something to offer to the option newbie. I don't recall anyone on there advocating buying a lot of far-OTM calls just because they're cheap.