option spreads in Ib using API

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by mushinseeker, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Hi. I am trying to submit a calendar equity option trade using the API and have been getting 2 kinds of errors-duplicate ID which is strange because I increment the id every time I submit an order. In addition, I also get a " security definition not found" even though I get the contract ID from TWs using the .reqcontractdetailsEx method. Here is my code in VB 6. I would sincerely appreciate any suggestions on how I can fire off a simple buy order of a calendar spread. I am a mid level Vb6 programmer but am pretty new w/ TWS.

Private Sub Command2_Click()
    Dim x As Integer

Set SpreadList = Tws1.createComboLegList

Dim leg As twslib.IComboLeg
    Set leg = SpreadList.Add()
    leg.conId = 47857680
    leg.ratio = 1
    leg.Action = "BUY"
    leg.exchange = "SMART"
    leg.openClose = 0

'Dim leg As twslib.IComboLeg
    Set leg = SpreadList.Add()
    leg.conId = 47857767
    leg.ratio = 1
    leg.Action = "SELL"
    leg.exchange = "SMART"
    leg.openClose = 0

Set x_contInfo = Tws1.createContract
    x_contInfo.symbol = "QQQQ"
    x_contInfo.secType = "BAG"
    x_contInfo.exchange = "SMART"
    x_contInfo.comboLegs = SpreadList
    Set x_OrderTix = Tws1.createOrder
    x_OrderTix.Action = "BUY"
    x_contInfo.conId = 0

x_OrderTix.lmtPrice = 0.04
    x_OrderTix.totalQuantity = 1
    x_OrderTix.orderType = "LMT"
    x_OrderTix.timeInForce = "GTC"
    x_OrderTix.orderId = txtRow.Text
    Call Tws1.placeOrderEx(txtRow.Text, x_contInfo, x_OrderTix)

End Sub

2. I don't know if this would help you or not. In case you are programatically placing option orders, I read today that is not possible since against the exchange rules and must manually hit an OK button to place the order.
    HTH