option pricing question

Discussion in 'Options' started by flyingforget, Oct 7, 2008.

1. I am a newbie.In theory,the price of option is influenced by the below variables.Since the price of option is influenced by annual volatility of stock price ,so does the price of option have relationship with short term volatility ,e.g 15minutes volatility?

The variables are:

S = stock price
    X = strike price
    t = time remaining until expiration, expressed as a percent of a year
    r = current continuously compounded risk-free interest rate
    v = annual volatility of stock price (the standard deviation of the short-term returns over one year). See below for how to estimate volatility.
    ln = natural logarithm
    N(x) = standard normal cumulative distribution function
    e = the exponential function

2. Option prices depend on the Implied Volatility. In theory, a changing stock volatility can change the implied, but it's more likely that the implied volatility is affected by the entire world around us - not just that of the individual stock. At in today's markets.

Mark

3. thank you I mean could short term volatility e.g 15 minute affect the price of option?

4. Yes, short term volatility could definitely affect the price of an option, but perhaps not in the way you are thinking about it.

When it all comes down to it, there is no "plug-in" variable to the option pricing model that determines what an option is worth. Everything boils down to supply and demand considerations for options, and the more demand for options, the higher the price you pay (or higher the implied volatility) for those options.

In practice, erratic short term volatility would only affect the implied volatility of the options to the extent that it changed the "market's" expectation of volatility going forward.

Usually high realized short term volatility like you are referring to results in front month options being bid up in the marketplace.