Option Income Portfolios

Discussion in 'Options' started by xtrhvydty, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Searched but found no discussion on this topic -

1. What is your annual composition of option strategies? For example, do you trade 20% butterflies, 20% calendars, 20%short verticals, 10% exotics, 15% diagonals, keep 15% in cash etc.

2. What is the approximate % revenue attributed to each of your strategies?

3. What is your basic option trading philosophy? IV trader, theta scalper?

4. What have you specialized in? What have you learned about this strategy?

2. Come over to the SPX Credit Spread Trader thread where we disucss credit spreads on SPX and diagonals and FLYs, as well as on other indexes. Lot of us making income month to month and you will get good varying answers to your questions..

3. I'm a directional trader.
    :)

4. Thanx you guys - I have been following all of your posts and have learned much of risk management and trading strategy from you. But I am curious as to the actual breakdown of the portfolio composition for option income traders. For example, based on my limited trading experience and exhaustive what-if scenarios with the spread simulator, this is my current gameplan:

$20k account
    Conservative end estimates:

1. ES wide Butterfly: 1.5k debit, .5k gain x 2/mo =$1k mo
    [Vega negative, limited loss, wide range, little adjustment]

2. NQ Batfly: 1.5k debit, $2k gain x 1/mo=$2k
    [Vega negative, limited loss, wide range double butterfly]

3. ES put calendar: 1.5k debit, $1k x 2/mo=$2k
    [Vega positive, limited loss, attention sensitive, tight range]

4. ES DOTM ratio credit spread : 1.6k credit: $1.6k x 1/mo=$1.6k
    [Vega positive, fixed gain, loss only @ 60 points OTM, 1.4:1 call ratio, 100% max loss possible with IV spike, most scenarios benefit from IV]

VIX backmonth options to hedge vega risk when spreads 3, 4 closed: Nov, Dec: $2k

Net spread debit at any time: ~ $.4.5k
    Net monthly income estimate: