Option Help

Discussion in 'Options' started by Trend Fader, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Firstly, I am an options newbie.

Assuming I wanted to play volatility on the NFLX earnings release.

So today during market hours.. I was considering buying the AUg 17.50 calls for $1 premium and buying the Aug 15.00 puts for $.65 premium.

Basically I would be buying slightly out of the money options on both sides.. now what is this strategy called ( strangle??)

Also is there a free program that would calculate my theoretical return.. assuming I would plug in a random number as to where I thought the stock might jump after earnings release. So for example now NFLX is trading at 18.70 in after hours.. what would be the exact return??

Any help from option pro's would be helpful..

2. kny3

kny3

Hey Trend Fader. You are correct, buying an out-of-the money call and put is a strangle.
    I wouldn't call this a volatility play. You are buying options at the peak of their expected volatility because of the news; earnings. You bought the correct month, you don't need additional time. "Is there a free program to calculate theoretical return?", yes, lots of them, Options Toolbox being one, but you need to make an assumption. Now that the news is out, will option volatility return to more "historical" levels? Where will the stock open tomorrow (I show it up an additional $0.75 from when you posted this)?.
    The "exact return" is a moving target, don't get hung up on that. The buyer of a strangle is expecting the unexpected. I would say up 4% today and up 12% after hours falls into this category.

kny3
    :cool:

3. Is there a link to this options toolbox?

4. kny3

kny3

Hey Trend. Any pricing calculator will do the job. www.cboe.com , you can download or use it there. Download takes a while.