Opinions please

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by spkkoz, Nov 6, 2007.

1. spkkoz

spkkoz

Hello. I will be graduating next year and have started to interview for various financial positions. I have interviewed with a prop firm, and was asked back for a second interview. I went on the second interview today, and I liked the firm a lot. The two people I met with were very nice, and I felt they were real with me. As of now I have no experience trading, but I am very interested in pursuing this career. I know the first year I will not be making any money which is okay because the firm pays a small salary. What percentage of entry level traders do you think actually make it, and what percentage actually last in this industry? Thanks.

2. spkkoz

spkkoz

You know you want to say something.

3. Less than 10% and less than 5%.

Hate to break it to you, but the prop firm offer is easy to get, the hiring requirements are pretty low.
    You won't even last a year unless you start generating some profits for the prop firm. I doubt they will even pay you salary past the 6th month unless you are generating a lot of commissions. You're just a number to these guys.

4. do you speak from experience or this is hear say :confused:

5. spkkoz

spkkoz

Can you show me the evidence from those studies? Just kidding. If I get an offer it is going to take some serious thinking because I would love to do this as a profession. Any recent college grads have any input on this? Anyone have any advice for me? I would love to hear numerous opinions. Thanks...

6. GaryN

GaryN

What have you got to lose if they pay you a salary sufficient to get by on? Go for it. Maybe youll get lucky.