Opinions please: Ninja vs Multi-charts .net vs Wealth-lab

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by slavkomae, Sep 13, 2016.

Your recommendation?

1. Wealth-Lab

3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  2. NinjaTrader

5 vote(s)
    45.5%
  3. Multicharts .NET

3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. slavkomae

slavkomae

I'm an experienced professional software developer, looking to develop trading strategies for a client who's a pro trader.

After struggling around with TradeStation and EasyLanguage, we've decided we need something a little less...bad.

Ideally I'd like to work in a C#-based trading platform. We've zoomed in on NinjaTrader, Multi-charts and Wealth-Lab.

What I'm looking for:

1) Most relevantly: the platform should get out of the way and let me program. I don't need any drag-dropping or other cute things, and more importantly, I don't want framework/API design that make things easy for beginner developers but get in the way when you try to implement something more complex. I basically would like a platform that will automatically do common things like charting and back-testing but leave me a blank slate to implement things in whichever way I need;
    2) Integration with Visual Studio would be a big plus because I seriously doubt that anyone else has developed debugging capabilities up to par with VS;
    3) Transforming a backtested strategy into an automated trading system should be seamless;
    3) Please point out weird quirks and/or limitations (hey, did you know that in EasyLanguage, you can't backtest GTC orders?).

Thank you in advance!

KeLo likes this.
  2. Simples

Simples

Very few probably have experience in 2 or 3 of these. I only know NT.

1) NT lets you do anything, but within the scope where the code is called. If you need custom beyond Indicator / Strategy-level, you may need to roll your own. I'd recommend using an established platform to prototype on, and refactor into more custom later when there's a real need for it. Be open to change opinions later.