Online broker for dial-up???

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by riserburn, Jan 14, 2006.

1. Hi All,

As you might have noticed, I am a newbie here. I have a ton of questions and would like to thank anyone in advance for taking the time to read through this lengthy post and answer any of my numerous questions. While trying to provide as much personal background and descriptions of my dilemma and keeping as brief but informative as possible, it seems to have ballooned like a fruit salad. I didn't intend to be long-winded but, as it turns out, I kept coming up with more and more questions; so here goes:

Since August of last year, my job requires me to travel a lot. Therefore, it makes little sense to have anything more than a dial-up ISP thats fairly portable. I have tried the so-called “high-speed dial-up” products du jour that are out there and I have found the term to be just as big a misnomer as military intelligence and turbo diesel. However, I may just be spoiled by cable. Although downloading is cumbersome and annoying, I have grown accustomed to dial-up and found that my ISP is pretty darn reliable and, aside from the obvious, have no big complaints. If there is someone here that knows of a better option that I'm not aware of; I would appreciate any constructive suggestions. Please keep in mind my trading requirements as I explain in a little more detail.

I have been trading equities for 3 years now with a Scottrade account. Yes, I know, their commissions suck, among other issues, but their fills are actually quite timely with little slippage and they have suited my purposes as a novice. I make 8 to 30 trades a month and hold my positions for 2 to 20 days. I only trade long so I have no need for a margin account; yet. I don't feel comfortable dealing with the issues that go along with trading equities short; especially on my schedule.