One trader's story, with returns history

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by MarketScientist, May 1, 2010.

1. There has always been, and will always be, much debate about whether it's possible to beat the market as an individual trader, and if so, to what extent.

I thought I would post my personal experience of trading on this forum to provide one more data point to prospective traders about the potential, joys and pitfalls of this profession.

I started trading in 2004 after having taken a finance course or two at university. I knew back then that, statistically, chances were I would not succeed. I therefore proceeded cautiously. I opened a trading account with a few thousand dollars and started trading.

The first few months went well though, so I added capital from other, more passive accounts. I was still very aware that failure could happen, so was not willing to risk more than 50% of my liquid net worth on the venture at any point. Indeed I did some stupid things over the first six months, such as going long a stock overnight with 2x my equity. Had that stock announced bad news while the market was closed, I could almost have been wiped out.

In the event, I was lucky and despite my inexperience I continued to post good, though volatile, returns. Regardless, the strategy I was running was very screen time intensive, which was affecting my performance at the day job I held. I evolved the strategy to become more long-term to reduce screen time and to dampen the daily cycle of emotions you had to go through as a day trader.