One Trade at a Time

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Chris_Anonymous, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Hey ET. Okay so here's why I'm starting this journal. I've read many threads on here, including NoDoji's journal and Anekdoten's journal. I've always figured I could learn to trade on my own, and who woulda thought, the more money I lose, the more willing I am to change and realize I might need more help than just my own self.

So here's where I'm at. Pros and cons. Cons:

Today, I had the largest drawdown since I started trading (-379.01). This was due to trading larger volume than I'm used to, and not waiting for good setups.

I'm not following my rules/system completely. I still overtrade at times, don't always take good setups, and every now and then I try to "win back my losses."

I have a giant ego that tells me I don't need to write this because I'll "get it" without any help.

Pros:

I'm halfway through <i>Trading in the Zone</i> as I write this.

Intellectually I know how to trade trends and S/R.

I've gotten glimpses of being in the zone and what it's like to trade successfully.

I set stops to keep my per-trade losses to a minimum.

Obviously, I have a lot of work to do. This is my attempt at sticking to my system. I'm going to explain every trade I take and I'll post whether it was profitable or not. If not, I'll attempt to explain what I did wrong. I feel that by doing this I'll also slow down and not rush into trades.

With the exception of the downers on this forum, all feedback is encouraged. Especially from successful, wise traders!:)

2. Also,

I'll fill everyone in on the basics of my system.

I guess you could call me a momentum-based trader. I'm currently looking at higher-priced stocks, some of which trade large volume, but all that have lots of momentum (CF,AMZN,RL,CAT,etc.)