One more double = retirement

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Jakobsberg, Jul 2, 2014.

1. Jakobsberg

Jakobsberg

Brief bio - I’ve been buying and selling stocks since the late 1990’s but only started to take it seriously

around 2007. Read all the classic investment and trader books since then. At the time I thought it

was a terrible time to start, just before the financial crisis, but in hindsight perhaps there was not

a better time to find out your risk tolerance and get first hand experience of what the market can

throw at you. Must be better finding out when your account is small than just before retirement

right?

I set up a “proper” trading account in early Jan 2013 with ability to buy international stock, options,

warrants, IPOs etc etc. The equity curve from this is below. As you can probably guess I’ve been long

but not extreme leverage and will say more in another post.

So why am I writing this?

- As part of a process to take this more seriously and document what I am doing. Basically I

need one more double to have enough funds to retire. Not that I probably will retire, but

its nice to have the option, and select jobs based on location and interest rather than the

paycheck.

- To throw out some ideas and get some feedback on them. Its not like there is a special secret

to what I’m doing and I don’t take positions in small companies so don’t see a problem

publishing it here.

- I have been reading lots of threads over the past few weeks and there don’t seem to be

many on long term position / swing trades which is my thing.

Hope some others also find it useful.

2. Looking forward to reading your efforts. Nice equity curve. :cool:

3. Awesome, looking forward to seeing it happen for you.

4. Jakobsberg

Jakobsberg

Nice gift from the Swedish central bank today. Rates all the way down to 0.25% from 0.75%. Expectations were for 0.5%.

Swedish stocks up and my borrowing costs down :)