One Man's (Happy) Experience in Forex

Discussion in 'Forex' started by crew, May 25, 2009.

1. crew

crew

I started trading Forex with a micro account after spending considerable time evaluating 3 or 4 platforms on practice accounts. Starting with $525 I was over confident based on my demo account results. The first day I made all the rookie mistakes and did not do what had been working successfully on the practice accounts. I over-leveraged my trade size, did not enter trades based on support and resistance levels, and traded a different time of day (daytime instead of evening (I work during the day)). The result was that I was down 62% at the end of the first day. With the $204 left in my account I went back to what I had been doing, much humbled but determined to make a go of this thing. Well it took about 5 or 6 weeks, some nights making less than a dollar, but I grew my account back to over $700. Not much money but it gave me a needed confidence boost that just maybe I might have a knack for Forex. Other than the 1st day's disaster, I only had one losing day---and that was when I exited a position that I was building prematurely when I clicked the 'Close all positions' button by mistake.
    Goal #1, hopefully by the end of June, is to to grow the micro account to $1000 before adding any additional funds. Reaching that goal will validate my system, at least to me. Around the time I opened the micro account I also opened a mini account with at a different Forex broker. I have not traded that account yet and will not until I reach goal #1; but I am using their practice account to fine tune strategies in the meantime.