Oil Prices and ETF's

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by Hulio, Aug 23, 2010.

1. Hulio

Hulio

It'll be obvious before reading too much of my post that I am a newb to what I am talking about. Nonetheless, if anyone can educate me a bit, I would be very appreciative.

I feel that the price of oil (and natural gas) are undervalued and would like to benefit from that fact if I am indeed correct. Everyone tells me to invest in oil companies on the stock market when I say this. But my question is this:

If the crystal ball in my head says (making up totally random numbers here for arguments sake) that oil prices will rise 50% over a certain amount of time and stock prices of oil companies will rise 25% in the same amount of time, then how best would one benefit from this?

I was hoping it would be as simple as investing in a fund where the combined capital was used simply to buy oil and you would be able to buy into and out of the fund as desired. But I am learning this is not the case. To benefit from a predicted rise in oil prices, is an ETF the way to go? How leveraged are these usually (now I'm just being lazy to not look that up myself)? How close is the correlation between fluctuations in oil prices and fluctuations in oil ETF's?

As I said, I am a complete newb and may not even be asking the right questions. Any advice welcome... Thanks!

2. If you truly believe this then buy DIG or OIH. Good luck

3. unfortunately ETF's are a bad proxy for commodity investments in general. That is due to the cotango effect between future contracts that those ETF's buy. Cotango is when the forward contract is priced higher than the current contract, so when it reaches expiration you'll have to either have lesser contracts or spend a whole lot more to have the same number of contracts...

4. Hulio

Hulio