Oil/Energy sector traders

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by chiefraven, Nov 24, 2005.

1. Hey guys,

I am posting this thread in hope of gathering all the oil/energy traders together for discussing this particular industry. Hopefully, we will all benefit from the information, news, techniques, predictions, and ideas being thrown around in this thread.

With that being said, let me introduce myself. I am a beginner scalp trader who's about to get on the live system to do some live trading. I've heard that it would be wise for beginners to learn from lower volume stocks between 200,000 - 1,000,000 daily volume, and between the price range of 25-35 range, because it would be easier to read and decipher the time and sale screen because it's slower moving and has less big seller and buyers coming in and out of the market. However, these stocks dont really move too much, most of the time their charts are just a flat line so I end up sitting there and not even learning that much... although i did pick up on a few things one time.... for example, i noticed that everytime a seller would offer 5,000 shares of stocks, and once this shows up on the screen, the buyers will come in and chip away the stocks, and then another 5,000 shares would be offered, and the process repeats for a really long time... I basically just waited until this wall was breached and bid or sell based on which direction the stock is going once this barrier is no longer there. But again, most of the time there isn't much patterns to learn from and not much action at all.

Would the oil/energy stocks be a good place for a beginner? I know this sector tend to be more volatile since it gets affected by news a lot, not to mention how much volume and movement it has constantly. However, i'd like to hear what you guys feel about this and what advice you could provide.