OHLC programming

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by saturnine, Jul 3, 2005.

1. I am an experienced trader who is only beginning to program systems. I have a basic question about OHLC programming. I am sure there is something quite simple I am overlooking (so no sarcasm) but what concerns me is the following:

Let's assume that entry for a given system is on a Monday, now if the exit turns out to happen on the same day wouldn't this generate some false signals? The point here is this: There is no way the software can tell which came first H or L, correct? EXAMPLE:

O 816
    H 823
    L 812
    C 815

Now let's assume we enter a trade + 2 from each open (theroretical system) but we also exit + 3 points. Now assuming we have no stop this is no problem. However, if we say our stop is 2 points the system will still call this a winner without knowing whether the stop occured first or second... Am I missing something here?

Mind you I do understand some might state that you would simply need to use intraday tick data for such a short-framed system, which I understand BUT, even longer-frame systems will occasionally hit a target or stop in the same day; so how does an OHLC programmer compensate for this?

So this could cause problems I would assume unless there is something I am missing. Thoughts on this? Thanks.

2. age old problem... use one minute or tick data I guess...or assume the worst with your daily data and build it into your system.

or exit on close....

3. kut2k2

kut2k2

You need two variables: BOD position and EOD position. If EOD doesn't match BOD, then you know you got stopped out for whatever logic your system is set up for.

4. I'm not sure I fully understand your suggestion on the BOD <> EOD logic. Could you offer and example? Thanks.

5. telozo

telozo